Naked Lady Leaves

(This is another in my test of sexually-titled posts. This one was a bit easier to come up with)

I know he looks like a tool, but The Wife met him and she said he's a good guy.

I know he looks like a tool, but The Wife met him and she said he's a good guy.

I was sad to hear earlier this week that Steven Page is leaving Barenaked Ladies.

I know, I’m supposed to love all this hard core music (Metallica, Nine Inch Nails, and Foo Fighters are among my top ten bands. But then again, so is They Might Be Giants. I’m an enigma), but I think the duo of Page/Robertson has written some of the best songs I’ve ever heard.

For instance, it’s really hard to say something insightful about relationships; that is, it’s hard to say something that we’ve all felt but we haven’t heard a hundred times. “He always leaves the toilet seat up,” or “She never wants to have sex” are all common threads. But what about this:

“The bravest thing I’ve ever done was to run away and hide.

But not this time.

And the weakest thing I’ve ever done was to stay right by your side.

Just like this time.

…And every time.”

I think that’s pretty deep. I think we’ve all been in a doomed relationship but always thought we should stick it out for whatever reason.

Here’s another one:

“It’s hard to keep your mouth shut

But harder still to make noise.”

That’s pretty deep too. I think the hardest thing in the world is to live in those extremes. It’s hard to let people do what they want to do, but it’s even harder to make them listen to you.

Barenaked Ladies have about seven albums as a five-piece band. They will now be a four-piece.

An amazing album, even though it's mellow.

An amazing album, even though it's mellow.

Honestly, I don’t know if they’ll make it. I mean, Page isn’t exactly the best musician in the world, but together with the rest of the boys, I think he serves a very specific and very important purpose. I like Robertson’s voice better and I think he’s the more talented of the two, but Page’s voice just adds… something… to the songs. Depth? Width?

I dunno.

Maybe I’m wrong. Maybe this is a blessing. Maybe BNL is going to come out of this kickin’ ass all over the singles’ chart (Robertson sings most of their singles).

Or maybe they’ll just fade away to obscurity and we’ll all say, “You ‘member that “One Week” song? Whatever happened to that group?”

3 Responses

  1. Awww! Linn must be so sad.

    • She’s not too broken up. She’s sadder that she never went on the Ships and Dip cruise (a BNL cruise with a nightly performance) and that our flash card broke and she lost the pictures to the last BNL show with Page.

  2. […] in Good Time Posted on May 12, 2010 by Nick I wrote a post quite a while back about Steven Page leaving Barenaked Ladies.  If I recall, I said that I didn’t know what to […]

Leave a Reply

