Afternoon Cartoon

I was on Spring Break last week and I happened to be washing dishes at around 3:30.  So, just for some background noise (the sound of me softly grunting as I scrub macaroni and cheese out of a 50-year-old cast-iron skillet makes me uncomfortable on many levels) I turned on the TV.

Kids don't get this type of consumer-based programming anymore.  Poor children.

Kids don't get this type of consumer-based programming anymore. Poor children.

When I was in school, I would always rush home to see the afternoon cartoons.  I remember Ducktales and Transformers and Darkwing Duck and G.I. Joe and Tailspin and He-Man and Animaniacs… ok, basically a lot of my childhood was spent watching TV (maybe that’s why I try not to watch it now).  But when I turned it on last week I saw nothing.  I saw talk shows and infomercials; that’s it.  There was nothing.

I feel bad for today’s kids.  Now all they have is their infinite playlist on their iPods, an internet with limitless possibilities, a cell phone with which they can reach whomever they want at any time through a variety of methods…

Damn.  Maybe that’s why no one’s making any cartoons anymore. 

 

One Response

  1. I LOVE DARKWING DUCK!

    let’s get dangerous!

Leave a Reply

