CONVENTION EXCLUSIVE! is Complete

Is it just me, or do I look cross-eyed in this photo?

Is it just me, or do I look cross-eyed in this photo?

I got the “CONVENTION EXCLUSIVE!” back from the printers today.  It looks pretty good.  There are a few things that I forgot about when I was inking this stuff:

  1. Printing a book shrinks it down.  There are some things that are crystal clear (but small) on the actual page but look kind of odd when shrunk down to comic size.  Eyes look a little smudged together and some backgrounds look cluttered.
  2. Printing a cover on a four-color press makes the blacks look not-so-black.  You can tell it’s supposed to be black, and compared to the reds, it looks black, but it’s not as black as the inside.
  3. The stars in the background are barely noticeable.  I’m not sure if I’m going to change it, though.  It looks pretty cool because these guys are supposed to be near a larger city, which means most of the night sky will be a sea of black and near-black.
  4. Zip-a-tones look weird from this printer.  In the big “l(a” book (from another printer) they look fine, but through these guys you notice the pattern of dots instead of just the dots.

I think it’ll be alright, though.  Most people won’t notice. 

Leave a Reply

