My Poor Car

Today, my friends, I am very sad.

My car – the ’98 Grand Am – may be no more.

Slurpees are from God.

Slurpees are from God.

After school today, as I sometimes do, I went to a neighboring town to get a Slurpee. On the way back, my car started shaking; the RPMs went crazy.

Now, I know that it needs a new transmission, but if the only indication that it’s screwing up is the RPMs going wacky, it could literally be dozens of things. It might be something as simple as the oxygen sensor, it might be something a little more complicated like a vacuum tube, or might be something as infinitely more complicated (and expensive) as a brand new transmission.

Since Pontiac is being cut, I wonder if this is now worth a lot more than the $900 BlueBook value.

Since Pontiac is being cut, I wonder if this is now worth a lot more than the $900 BlueBook value.

I’m not sure what I’ll do if I need a new transmission. With the age and the miles (almost 200,000), it would probably be wiser to get a new car. And right now, given the economy and the state of the car industry, I can’t think of a better time to buy.

But damn it’s been nice not to have a car payment.

I think the best option for me is to lease a tiny car for two years. I figure by then every car company will have an alternative-fuel vehicle available. Then I can finally strike back at the oil companies who’ve fucked the entire world (seriously, this whole economic mess started when everyone started paying $4 per gallon for gas).

I’ll let you know how it turns out.

One Response

  1. It’s fixed. It turns out that a part I replaced a couple years ago was faulty. So they replaced that part for free and since there were in there, I got new spark plugs and plug wires and all sots of cool engine stuff.
    Ended up costing $200. Not bad.
    That’s less than a car payment. If the Grand Am lasts a month it’ll monetarily be worth it.

Leave a Reply

