Trash Trash

How do you throw away a garbage can?

This isn't my can, but doesn't it kick ass?

This isn't my can, but doesn't it kick ass?

The Wife had a party a week or two ago and one of her friends brought their child.  When the child went to throw something away (which I didn’t know kids knew how to do.  Seriously, you should see the floors in my classroom), the mom grabbed his hand and said that she would throw it away for him.  She said the (get this) trash can was too dirty.

So, The Wife took offense to this and went to work looking for a new and better trash can.  She got it a few days ago and I’ve been trying to throw out my old trash can ever since. 

The garbagemen won’t take it (I like to pretend the garbagemen are superheroes) because it’s a garbage can.  They put it on the truck, tip it over, and put it back.  I can’t give it to Goodwill because it’s friggin filthy.  I can’t break it apart because it’s made out of that high-class super-plastic.

So, I’m asking, how do you throw out a garbage can?

2 Responses

  1. Put it inside a slightly larger trash can. The dump truck will close on the larger can, lift it, and dump out the smaller can.

    It might not even need to be larger; trash cans are usually built to stack inside each other. You just need to be sure it fits loosely enough to slip out when tipped.

  2. But my BIG trash can is the one that’s being replaced!
    Damn trash company and all their slippery-slope nonsense.
    They charge me $12 a month to take care of all my trash and this is how they repay me.

Leave a Reply

