Organic milk

I’ve been reading a lot lately about how we’re really fucking ourselves over when it comes to… well, everything.

For instance, we all hate global warming (today it’s hotter in MI than FL or CA), but we all drive cars that emit a lot of carbon to drive to a supermarket that emits a lot of carbon to buy beef that emits a lot of carbon who are fed corn that emits a lot of carbon.

Another good example is health care: we all know that if we eat better, then we won’t be sick and the cost of health care comes down (although, on a side-note, I think it’s really funny how the big insurance companies claim that national health care would be so efficient that they couldn’t compete (good!) and yet so inefficient that no one would want it).  Yet I can count on one hand the number of people I know who make their own meals from scratch everyday.

I was at the store recently and there was a sale on “organic milk;” it was the same price as regular – apparently inorganic – milk.   So I decided to give it a shot.

lilmilkI’ll be damned, it actually tasted like childhood.  I don’ remember when milk changed taste, but this organic stuff actually tasted like the milk I remember in school.  Remember those tiny little cartons that you used to get at school because you were part of the “free breakfast program” for poor folks?  That’s what this organic stuff tastes like.  I actually felt peppy while I was drinking it.  Like a kid.

$5.89 for a gallon of organic milk.  And I have to bend way down because it's at the bottom of the cooler.  With "chocolate soy-based milk."

$5.89 for a gallon of organic milk. And I have to bend way down because it's at the bottom of the cooler. With "chocolate soy-based milk."

I don’t know if that’s because of the memories and feelings the taste produced or if it’s because there was actually more milk in the carton than antibiotics, but I think I might start buying “organic” everything.

If it’s on sale.

Seriously, I’m not paying $6 for a gallon of milk.

One Response

  1. […] I came back to Michigan, I decided to start eating right.  That’s why I bought “organic milk” a few weeks ago.  It’s why I bought Soy Milk […]

Leave a Reply

