Why People Suddenly Like Michael Jackson

He seriously had a statue like this.

He seriously had a statue like this.

Now that the hoopla has died down a bit, I’ve decided to make it look like I’m not jumping on the bandwagon and write my obligatory Michael Jackson article.

I’ve said for years that the man can sing.  I actually like Michael Jackson.  That is, I like him as an artist, not as a person; I’ve never met the man so I can’t personally say whether I like him or not.  Most people you talk to, though, seem to confuse those two things.

When you say, “I like Nirvana,” or, “I like the Beatles,” most people assume that you’re talking about the rock group.  They don’t assume that you approve of Kurt Cobain’s heroin habit or Lennon’s sex fetish.  However, when you talk about a single act – Sting, Prince, Madonna, Garth Brooks – suddenly everything is blurred.

I truly believe that Elvis Presley is one of the best singers to have ever lived.  I don’t especially enjoy the type of music that he sung (although his gospel stuff is amazing), but I think every fan of music should listen to – and study – Elvis’ body of work.  He was a druggie and a fatty, but damn could he sing.

He's got a funny bit about Jackson.  Click here to listen.

Lewis Black's got a funny bit about Jackson. Click here to listen.

Over the last 20 years or so (and those of you too young to remember personally probably don’t understand what the big deal is), any time anyone ever said Michael Jackson’s name, the conversation inevitably turned to his weird behavior and/or pedophilia.  No one ever said, “He had the top five singles on Billboard at one time,” or “He has the top-selling album of all time,” (actually, he see-saws with The Eagles) or even,  “His ‘flops’ sold more than a band like My Chemical Romance can ever hope to achieve.”

And then he died.

And I could hear the same conversation all over the world.  People who refused to buy any Jackson product talked to other people who refused to buy any Jackson product and said, “You know, I actually like some of his stuff.”  The other one replies with a “Me too!”  And so it went throughout the world.

So much so that the internet stopped working for about 20 minutes.

jacksonalbumsSo much so that eight of the top ten albums on iTunes are by Michael Jackson.

So much so that people actually started having the conversation about separation of artist and person: “Let’s say he molested kids.  That doesn’t make him a bad singer, just a bad person.”

Just because you like “Man in the Mirror,” it doesn’t mean you like diddling kids.  Just because you like the “Theme from Free Willy,” it doesn’t mean you like exposing yourself.

It just means that someone can be talented and criminally perverted; just because you like the talent, it doesn’t mean you like the perversion.

Think about that next time Madonna does something stupid.  That slut.

4 Responses

  1. I normally wouldn’t post anything because I’ve always thought that people could be evil and looking at some of these comments it’s still the same. I would like to say to the evil people that post these terrible comments I would like to ask you, If this was your brother , father, uncle or son and the media had torn your life up in pieces would you be affected? No one on this earth is perfect and we all have flaws. None of you were in his home or lived his life so none of you should judge him or his life. You all just read what the media has displayed and they didn’t know for sure either. I think that it is very sad that the media care more about the ratings then about a mother, father, sister and brother who loss someone they loved very much. The other sad thing is that these people are arguing as if they were there. If this were their love one, they would say, ”Please respect our privacy but because it doesn’t pertain to them it’s justified and it’s not. I don’t know for sure what’s the facts but what I do know was that he was an exceptional and talented person, who gave the world hope to love and embraced people but instead of looking at those positive attributes you all focus on something you really didn’t know about. He was here for a reason just as you are here for a reason and the good thing I can say he fulfilled his destiny did you? MJ don’t owe you or the media anything. So remember that. STOP THE HATRED CAUSED WE ALL WILL LEAVE HERE AND WHEN YOU DO WHAT DID YOU DO TO CHANGE THE WORLD. I love you all and enjoy your day
    Peace and Blessing

  2. Pat, we essentially said the same thing. I said it doesn’t matter what the man did; I buy his albums, not his personal failings (regardless of how heinous those failings may have been). I’m not sure if you’re mad at me or the world in general.

    To be fair to the media, the Jacksons LOVE attention. If they wanted a nice, neat, quiet funeral, they have quite enough money to have a quaint ceremony in a private church with bodyguards that keep cameras at bay. Instead, they each pose for pictures, have interviews, and throw a memorial concert as big as I’ve ever seen on eleven different networks.
    As for your questions:

    1. If this was your brother , father, uncle or son and the media had torn your life up in pieces would you be affected?
    If “the media had torn my life up in pieces”, I guess I would be inherently affected, yeah. But like I said, I don’t think the media has done much to the Jacksons that the Jacksons didn’t ask for.

    2. He was here for a reason just as you are here for a reason and the good thing I can say he fulfilled his destiny did you?
    This question is kind of what Tiny Life is about. For one thing, you’re not sure if he fulfilled his destiny. If there is such a thing, only God can say that. Secondly, I’m doing what I can to “do what I’m supposed to do” (I think it’s much more accurate to say it like that than to assume all the stuff people read into the word “destiny”). Look on any other part of this website and you’ll see.

  3. A good old combination of insanity and ESL-quality prose always results in excellence.

    “STOP THE HATRED CAUSED WE ALL WILL LEAVE HERE AND WHEN YOU DO WHAT DID YOU DO TO CHANGE THE WORLD.”

    Truly, words to live by.

Leave a Reply

