Poor Car, No Truck

My dream has been shattered.

OK, it wasn’t really a dream; I never really wanted a pick-up that badly, but at that deal, I couldn’t pass it up.
If you read some of my earlier posts, you’ll know that I was on the verge of getting a new 2009 Chevy Silverado for about half price.  I don’t really like spending money (which is why it took the better part of 15 years before I decided to pay someone to help me out with pencils), so I thought that if I had to get a new car, a half-price new car would be the best.

But it was not to be.

See, the car that I wanted – or, to be more accurate, the truck that I found at an incredible deal – wasn’t at the same dealership that I was.  It was at another dealership.  In another state.  What that means is that my salesman had to call the other dealership and broker a trade so that I could get my truck at an incredible price.  I traded my car in, used all of my incentives, cut a check for the down payment, got a loan from the bank, and signed on the dotted line.  Apparently, though, someone also did the same thing at the other dealership.  So instead of going through all the hassle of getting a driver and a trade, they sold my good-deal truck to someone else.

Room for one. Car of my dreams.

It's like a motorcycle in that if you get in an accident - regardless of local helmet laws - you'll probably die.

I was sad about it at first, but then I remembered that I don’t really want a truck.  The car I want is tiny, fuel-efficient, and will last forever.  To be honest, my dream car doesn’t really exist.

I think I would basically want a motorcycle with a cover.  A hybrid motorcycle with a cover.  And a sidecar.  And Bluetooth so I could hook up my iPhone without a cord.

I think the closest thing they make is a Prius.

3 Responses

  1. i lov emy prius! I can’t slow down!

    • The new Prius goes really fast. Into walls.
      Actually, when I went to buy the car, they asked if I had a Toyota because GM was offering $1000 discount for switching to their brand.

  2. […] New Car Again Posted on March 2, 2010 by Nick As you may recall, a few days ago I tried to purchase a 2010 Silverado.  Twas not to be. […]

Leave a Reply

