Mexican Conspiracy

Tonight The Wife asked what I wanted for dinner.  Although, the question in itself is odd (I always make dinner), it wasn’t eye-opening as the next question:

“How about I make enchiladas?”

I searched the dictionary in my brain, but the only thing I could find was “some sorta Mexican dish; synonyms: taco.”  I asked The Wife, “Is that like a taco?”

She looked at me as if I had said some racist epithet comparing tacos to Chavez.  Continuing the look, she said that it was, “Ground beef and beans and rice and vegetables in a tortilla…”

I interrupted with, “How is that different from a taco?”

The only recourse she had was, “Well, enchiladas are baked a little.  At the end.  When they’re done.”

Stop eating here! All of their dishes are EXACTLY the same! You're hurting America!

That’s it.  They’re baked a little.  For like 5 minutes.  It’d be like making deep-fried chicken wings, smothering them in various hot sauces and then putting it in the oven for a tick.  Now they’re not “chicken wings”, they’re “pollo cocido al horno”.

I never really thought too hard about it before (or maybe I have; who knows), but all Mexican food is the essentially same thing: ground beef, beans, rice, and vegetables in a tortilla: tacos, burritos, enchiladas, churitos, chimichangas, nachos, quesadillas, taquitos, tostadas… even the taco salad.

It’s a Mexican conspiracy.  Everything is made with the same ingredients and prepared is essentially the same manner, yet it all tastes different.  What could be their fiendish plot?  What could it mean for America?

More importantly, what could it mean to the Tiny Life Nation (right now, it’s only a couple of houses in a subdivision; but we’re growing)?

Leave a Reply

