Draft 2 of “Jed Jr.”

Currently, this next book is titled “Jed Jr.”  And there’s a reason for that.

I’m sure I’ve mentioned this before, but the book that I’m currently rerererewriting was originally intended to be the first published novel.  It used to be about how Jed is a lot like his dad in several respects and that this “sameness” comes out in a variety of different ways.  Then, as you read through the series, you could see how much like his dad Jed is.

But it was boring.

In the original incarnation of this novel, Jed is sad/angry about his dad dying and tries to drown his troubles in the affections of women.  Originally, this is what his dad did as well.  I did this because both Jed Jr. and Jed Sr. are based on semi-real people, and this is how these particular semi-real people acted.  But after I wrote “left” and after the success of “l(a”, I found it hard to rectify having Jed Sr. be a sorta-Christ-like character and a womanizer.

So I had to start over.

After making the skeleton of the novel, I’m not sure it should be called “Jed Jr.” anymore.  It seems like it’s more about friendships than anything else and Jed Sr. didn’t have any friends.

It happens over the course of about 18 months, so I’m thinking of commandeering the title of one of my other books and calling it “Our Short Years.”

2 Responses

  1. I think I might like this. I always thought it would be cool to see the creative proccess at work.

    • Well, get ready. I’ll have a whole bunch of articles coming at you that you really won’t understand for another 2 years.
      I’ve been thinking lately that I might put up my failed “Jed Jr.” script somewhere though. Whatcha think?

Leave a Reply

