A Very Important Scene

Today I finished a very significant scene between Sis and Jed.

It talks about Jed’s relationship with her.  And Amy.  And his dad.  And how the three are related.

I know you probably don’t care too much about this, since you don’t really know who Sis is and who Amy is, but I’m pretty proud of it (they’re both mentioned in l(a, and Sis is featured pretty prominently in left, but they’re not exactly main characters yet).  Usually the conversations I have between characters last for pages on top of pages – sometimes they extend between chapters.  But not this one.  I did the whole thing in about 100 words.

Like most of the conversation I make, I knew how I wanted it to end and I knew what I wanted them to touch on, but I didn’t know where to start and I didn’t know how to get from a to b to c.  As a writer, one of the hardest things to do is to make a character change without making a huge deal out of it; that is, the hardest thing to do is make a character go from upset to happy (or out-of-control to control) in just a few short sentences.  I think I’ve done a pretty good job with that today.

Actually, I take that back.  I think the hardest thing is to make a dirty joke without sounding dirty.

Leave a Reply

