Draft 2 Done!

There’ve been a few days over the past couple of weeks where I thought I had a severe case of writer’s block (even though I knew exactly what I wanted to say and I knew exactly how I wanted ever scene to end).  But then I remembered something I had long forgotten: if you want to write, write.

A few months back, a fan wanted to know about my history with Dave Sim.  In that history, I talked about how I kept asking Sim for all sorts of advice.  I asked him about writing and inking and lettering and publishing.  I basically asked him everything about the business without trying to learn anything about the business.  To sum up, I asked him where I should start and he replied with something like, “Issue 1, Page 1, Panel 1.”  I thought he was being a smart-ass, but that’s exactly right.

I’d forgotten in the time since “l(a” and “left” had been completed that the best way to write something is to write it.  I had gotten so caught up in planning it (“I can get about 100 pages done a year, so if this book is about 150 pages, that means I’ll have it done in about 18 months but I have a baby now so I might get thrown off but I hear that when something that takes up so much of your time is introduced you become much more concise in your creating so maybe it’ll be longer than 18 months but since I’ll be more concise it’ll be shorter than 18 months unless Colacitti needs some more time in which case…”) that I didn’t know where to begin.  So I took Sim’s advice and started at the beginning.

There were a few times where I had to rewrite a scene over and over again because something just didn’t work (even at this early stage) and there were a time or two where I had to completely erase a scene and start over again (click here for an example), but the more I wrote, the more I found that I had to say.  The more I wrote, the more everything just clicked into place.

On to draft three.  I think this one will come about more smoothly.

One Response

  1. […] know in an earlier post I talked about how simply writing is the percurser to writing well, but this is a little […]

Leave a Reply

