Shutter Island

I know what the director and/or writer is trying to do with this.  They want the viewer to think one way – to be enthralled by the same paranoia that the protagonist is enthralled by – and I think to that degree the movie really works.  The writing is good, the dialogue is pretty good (at least from what I know about 50’s lingo), and the directing is amazing; they all add to the feeling of distrust and dread that permeates the movie.

The score, I believe, detracts from that, but I’ve heard several people disagree, so I’ll let that one go.

The thing that kills this movie for me – or at least another viewing of it – is one of two things.

  1. Since I already knew that this had some sort of twist ending, I called it from the beginning.  As Teddy is on the boat traveling to the island, I said to The Wife, “I betcha he’s the one that’s locked up already.”  Advertisers shouldn’t promote a movie to say, “There’s a twist at the end that you’ll never see coming!”  I always see it coming.  I saw it in The Village I saw it in The Others I saw it in Memento.  You where I didn’t see it?  The Sixth Sense.  Why?  Because, if you remember, no one in the commercial said, “I twist you’ll never see coming!”  They said, “Bruce Willis.  The Sixth Sense.  Rated R.  Starts Friday.”
  2. There’s no reason to make this movie two hours and twenty minutes long.  I understand where the filmmakers are coming from: if you really want a twist ending, you can have a typical I-II-III Act sequence; you gotta change it up so the viewer’s not sure what to expect.  Except when you announce – as a reason for seeing the movie – that you won’t know what to expect.  Then all I’m doing as a viewer is watching the movie in order to pick it apart.  I’ll make random guesses until I’m right.

Again, that’s why I like Lost.  I never knew what would happen next.

4 Responses

  1. First.

  2. What?

  3. But I was first.

Leave a Reply

