Draft Four Done!

Everything is finally put together.

If you haven’t been following, I’ve been rewriting the next novel, “Jed Jr.”, for the past few weeks. When I got done with it a while back, I noticed that it was lacking a bit of humor. It was too dark for a stick-figure comic (not as dark as anything by Feazell, but still…) so I added a bunch of scenes in strategic places so that the book wouldn’t be such a downer. It’s now twice as good – and much more readable – than it was before.

On a side-note, I tried to have the humor be as broad as possible without being sexual. I realize that most teenagers talk about sex even though they have no idea how to do it (kids, if you can tell me how many times you’ve had sex, you haven’t had sex very many times), but I wanted the jokes in here to be a little bit more cranial than variations on “your penis is too small.”

After I added all that, I read it again and noticed that there wasn’t a lot of outward connection to the rest of the series. Sure, there were a lot of small things, but nothing that someone who had read “l(a” and “left” could look at and go, “So that’s where that comes from.” So I needed a B-Story. This made the book a little better. Not twice as good. Like 30% better.

After the B-Story was written – completely autonomous from the rest of “Jed Jr.” – I had to figure out a way to secure it into the A-Story; that is, I had to figure out a way to make it work so that it wasn’t distracting to the main plot of the main book. I had to figure out a way to make it seem organic. That meant I needed another scene or two in the B-Story to coincide with the A-Story. I needed something to make them mesh. When that was done, the story was easily twice as good as it was before. It now works on a lot of different levels and we have an easily identifiable situation with some mysterious, scary, and thought-provoking elements.

All that’s left now is to fix all of the highlighted stuff that I said I would get back to. Little things like at the beginning of Ch. 5 I put “Should I put a joke here? Is it necessary?” Or during the speech the bad guy gives, I put “make sure speech is original but not ridiculous.”

So I still have a little ways to go. But it’s not nearly as far as it was in May.

3 Responses

  1. I wonder if other writers put as much time and thought into their work as you do? The thing I like most about your two books is that I had to read them twice.

  2. Max Ink doesn’t. He fucking sucks.

  3. I had to read the one minicomic he made about the iPhone twice.

Leave a Reply

