Draft 5 Complete

These drafts keep getting shorter and shorter.

Or, I guess I should say, the drafts themselves keep getting longer and longer, but the time to complete them keeps shrinking.

Writing this particular draft was pretty easy. See, while I’m writing any early draft, I highlight things that are suspect. So if there’s a conversation that needs to be written, but I don’t know how to start it, I’ll highlight it. If something needs to happen in between two different scenes to motivate a character to act a certain way, but I don’t know what that something is, I’ll highlight that as well.

As I complete the drafts, I get rid of highlights. Some things I take out entirely, some things I rewrite, some things I need to write for the first time.

When I first started writing the fifth draft, I had about a third of the story highlighted for some reason or another. A lot of it was just questions I ask myself. “Is this a good way to end this scene?” or “should there be a new chapter here?“ or “Does this sound out of character” are all pretty common highlights in “Jed Jr.“ Lemon was pretty well behaved, so I got a good eight hours of writing in today and answered most of those questions.

As of right now, I have two major highlights and a few smaller ones.

It took over a month to get the first draft done. Today I completed the entire fifth.

6 Responses

  1. Hey, Pokey, less talk, more chalk.

  2. Weird. My username on an old college website was “pokeypokey”. I think you’ve been stalking me since Tiny Life’s inception.

  3. I’m a bit too lackadaisical to be described as a stalker. What’s in-between a stalker and a well-wisher?

  4. […] write the script (over and over again) and then send it to Colacitti with notes.  He does sketches and it comes back to me.  I then […]

Leave a Reply

