Kick-Ass

Based on several recommendations, I finally saw Kick-Ass yesterday.  I didn’t like it.  Not one bit.  I didn’t not like it.  I’m not against the movie.  It’s like play: I know that it can be considered art and I know a lot of people who enjoy it, but I’m not one of them.

The weird thing is that I don’t know why I don’t like it.  I generally think comic book movies are good simply because I walk into them with such low expectations, but not this one.

Maybe it’s because Kick-Ass isn’t a hero.  He’s just some high school kid standing up to bullies.  No.  That can’t be it, because I like The Karate Kid.

Maybe it’s because Big Daddy lost his wife and spends the whole movie trying to get revenge.  It’s hard to get behind a protagonist like that.  No.  That can’t be it, because I like The Crow.

Maybe it’s because Hit Girl is way too young to be doing what she’s doing.  It borders on child abuse.  No.  That can’t be it, because I like Frailty.

I think the biggest problem with this movie is that every character is interesting except the main character.  What is going on in Big Daddy’s head?  How can he justify what he’s doing to his daughter?  What’s really going on with Hit Girl?  Is she upset that she’s not getting much of a childhood?  What’s happening with Red Mist?  He seems conflicted about his dad’s business; is he?  Even his nerd buddies are more interesting.

Come to think of it, that may be why I never liked Bone: NO ONE was interesting in that book. I didn’t care who lived and who died as long as Phoney was ok.

I think having an interesting main character is by far the most important thing in a book.  I think that might be why you have to read about 200 pages of back-story in Tiny Life before getting into any real plot.  Jed is the most interesting character, but not because of what he says or how many people he kills; Jed is the most interesting character because everything that’s ever happened to him is interesting.  Eventually.

So, to sum up, Kick-Ass was definitely worth the $1 I paid to rent it.

Leave a Reply

