Chronologically Lost

I’m sure I’ve said this at least a dozen times before: Tiny Life would be much different if it was read in chronological order.  You’d have Jed as a ten-year-old (or is it eleven?) and all his friends at around the same age and all the conflicts therein.  You’d have his dad as a somewhat unfit father.  You’d have the speechwriter’s life flash before his eyes.  Then you’d see, step by step, how each of these things interact with each other until the plot reaches a logical conclusion.  It’s interesting enough, given the plot.  Out of order, though, Tiny Life is much more interesting.

See, as it’s published (in order: 5, 1, 4, 6, 7, 2, 8, 3, 9, 10) there’s a lot more to think about.  Many of the subtler points that would’ve taken years to connect (like the motivation of certain characters in certain situations) are now immediate while a lot of the duller plot-type elements (like who did what when) are stretched out.  A lot of the things you might forget about from book 2 to book 8 are suddenly clear without a reread.  That’s why I’m publishing them this way.

A good example of what I’m talking about is Lost.  Lost is a powerful series and an excellent example of how you can make certain smaller stories much more interesting if you simply add a little non-chronological thinking.  Think about it: in the first season almost nothing happened; it’s just a bunch of people living together (and, given the reaction, most people actually enjoyed that aspect of he show much more than finding out what the island really was).  However, because of flashbacks, the viewer gets to see why certain characters act they way they do in certain situations.  If it were done another way, if the entire series was chronological, the viewer would miss a lot of the subtler points.  And some things, like Locke no longer needing a wheelchair or the questions surrounding the smoke monster, wouldn’t have been nearly as interesting.

Don’t believe me?  Go to  This guy has put together the entire series in chronological order.  Now, instead of the first episode being the crash of flight 815, it’s Jacob’s birth.

I’ve been watching and it’s pretty cool/bizarre.

I just hope I can get through them all before The Man finds out and takes the site down.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: