Useless Twitter Page

I think designing a Twitter homepage was one of the most challenging experiences I’ve ever undertaken.

Let me rephrase that.  I think designing a Twitter homepage was one of the most challenging in terms of how much time I thought it was going to take (15 minutes) vs. how much time it actually took (three sporadic hours) vs. what my conclusion ended up being.

I thought, since I have like 15 followers on Twitter, that I shouldn’t spend too much time designing it.  I figured I’d just take a panel from one of the books and throw it up there as a background.  That didn’t work because, as it turns out, when you look really closely at a comic panel, it looks like crap.

So I figured that instead, maybe I would just make a comic page out of the whole screen; you know, have a bunch of smallish panels that don’t really tell a story but still look pretty cool.  That didn’t work either because, as it turns out, when something impedes the visions of practically everything on a comic book page, the page itself looks like crap.

So I figured I’d create a happy medium and find a panel I could shrink.  This way it wouldn’t look like crap from being too close and it wouldn’t look like crap as the main object wouldn’t be impeded by ridiculous tweets.  As it turns out, that looks like crap too because I couldn’t shrink it enough to have Jed prominent on the page and yet have it big enough so that the rest of the screen would be filled up with my unique style of cross-hatched background.

So I compromised and stole someone else’s design outright.

My Twitter page. Click to enlarge.

Someone else's Twitter page. Click to enlarge

Leave a Reply

