Giving Money Away

My mom still calls it "Sears and Roebuck".I’ve ranted about this before, but why do businesses make it so difficult for you to give them your money? Back in the olden days, when people talked to other people about business matters, there was a certain amount of common sense. For instance, if you went into Sears and asked to see a washer/dryer set, the salesmen on the floor competed for your attention. Once you chose one of the fine professionals (these weren’t college kids working themselves through school; these were middle-aged dudes with a family), they asked you how much you were willing to spend. If you said $100, they showed you something about that price – maybe five dollars more. Once you picked your set, you haggled with the salesman over the price/delivery charge/maintenance agreement/etc.

Now you can go into practically any store and search for 45 minutes trying to find someone to help you. Once you find that person – no doubt someone you who couldn’t give a rat’s ass about their job because they’re between the ages of 18 and 22 and that age group doesn’t care about anything – they act like it’s a chore to tell you information about the products that they sell (that is, if you can find someone who knows anything about the products their company sells). They know, however, that they work on commission, so if you say you’re willing to spend $100, they’ll start showing you things in the $250-$300 range, all the while telling you about the convenience of paying it off using a company credit card. Once they’re finally convinced that you have no interest in spending more than twice what you originally planned, they’ll show you the washer/dryer set you wanted while explaining how it’s an awful product and won’t last a year. Budging on the price? Nope. Budging on the delivery charge? Nope. Maintenance fees? Initial hook-up? Nope. “That’s out of our hands, sir” they’ll say.

Meanwhile, your only intent was to give them $100.

Right now I’m having the same problem with an online trading site.

Tiny Life made a tiny bit of money this year so I’ve decided to gamble it in The Market (I would say “invest”, but an investment is something that goes up in value. “Gambling” is anyone’s guess, just like the stock market).

I went to this website and signed up. But they don’t use usernames and passwords, they use account numbers. So I had to call the company to find out what that is. Once that was done I had to re-enter all relevant information because the initial entering was just for the sign-up; this is for the sign-in. Once that was done I had to talk to one of the local representatives where he told me all about the great services they offer (after about 20 minutes of the sales pitch, I interrupted him by saying that I’m using his company to invest 500 extra dollars that I happened to come across; once he found out that I’m not another high-roller from Charlotte, MI, he hung up). I then had to sign papers through the mail. Once that was all done, I could sign into my account. But I had no money in there so I had to transfer from my bank. This was another four days of frustration where they wanted to take money from my savings, yet I wanted them to take money from my checking (I also have to pick the same three security questions through the trader that I picked through my bank, which meant I had to call my bank, verify who I was, and then ask them about my security questions).

All in all, it took me about two weeks to give this company $7.

It would’ve been faster to drive to the NYSE, walk on the floor, and hand a trader $500.

One Response

  1. […] building of this house has furthered my point of businesses refusing to take my […]

Leave a Reply

