Jed Jr. Logo

I’m not sure what to do about the logo for the next book.

My original series – the one that I made in 9th grade – was called Jed Jr. and I had a logo for it.  Frankly, I think it’s pretty cool looking, but then again, I’ve stared at it for at least 100 hours of my life.  I might be too close to it.  Plus I made it when I was 14.

Obviously I would make this look better today. I made this with a Bic in Mrs. Stone's English 9 class.

I’ve been thinking about using a simpler logo that I used on the inside-front-cover of those books way back when that I (literally) copied-and-pasted from different fonts using the (then) state-of-the-art Microsoft Works 2.0.

I think this one looks pretty sweet, but because of the size, it would be hard to replicate effectively.

I think a mixture of the two – font from one and design from the other – would be a good match.  However, one of the fonts is based on the Garamond  font, which is, I believe, the font used in the Tiny Life logo.

So I guess the real question here is: how do I make a font that looks good that incorporates how “Jed Jr.” used to look and how “Tiny Life” looks today?

Hopefully this question will be answered by the time SPACE rolls around.

Here are four different things I have in mind right now:

Simple. Reminiscent of other logos I've used / plan to use.

Kind of a 70s/80s vibe. I like it.

The most straightforward of the choices.

Looks cool, but box logos always look weird on a comic.

4 Responses

  1. For my money, #1 is the only plausible contender.

    • Well, your money is the one I’m counting on.

      • Not so fast! My wife’s current pregnancy, which does not seem likely to end in merciful miscarriage, will doubtlessly bankrupt me. Unless your comic provides food, clothing, or shelter, it may no longer fit within my budget.

  2. If you plan on potty-training your kid before he can walk (you basically just lay down newspaper and then watch for signs of a BM), my book can help.

    It’s also good for spiritual guidance, so it could take the place of the offerings at church.

Leave a Reply

