My Baby Can Read

The Wife’s birthday is right after Christmas, which can be a blessing.  Usually she just tells me what she didn’t get and then I get it for her.  It’s like Christmas Jr., but without all the obligatory family gatherings.

This year she really wanted the Your Baby Can Read system of DVDs.  It claims that it can teach children as young as three months how to read.  Since children under six months old can’t identify two-dimensional space – things like what’s happening on a TV screen – I find this hard to believe.  But The Wife wanted it.

So last week we were at Meijer buying our weekly ‘ceries (I’m trying to create a new slang term for “groceries”; whatcha think?) and I came across the box for Your Baby Can Read at 50% off (it must be because it works so well; that’s how supply and demand works).  I decided to buy it for her.

But it wasn’t because I think it will help our child succeed in life.

And it’s not because it was 50% off.

And it’s not because The Wife wanted it.

I got Your Baby Can Read because this DVD, unlike other DVDs, is multi-sensory.  That’s right.  This digital video doesn’t just have moving pictures; this is a talky!  Sight AND sound!

Now how much would you pay?

3 Responses

  1. […] more here: My Baby Can Read « Tiny Life « Fisher Price Space Saver High Chair – You Can Buy It At Discount […]

  2. There have been a number of critics of My Baby Can Read; many teachers have alleged that it actually impairs long-term reading skills. I haven’t looked into it enough to form any sort of opinion, but you’ve inadvertently made a decision that could detrimentally impact your child’s entire life.

    Get used to it. That kind of thing will happen like ten times a week.

  3. I’ve talked to a few child care professionals and they say that it CAN work. But a child at that age needs something repeated about 2000 times before it can be learned. The box says we should watch it twice a day. If my math is right, that’s about 3 years of watching; I think my dog could learn to read with that much repetition.

    On a separate note, I hope you’re not as stressed as you sound about being a father. It’s not that hard; your job is to not screw your kid up. He’s gonna be who he’s gonna be; you have very little to say about it (although, as a parent, I like to think EVERYTHING I do affects Lemon). The best way to explain it is to paraphrase what Roy says to Jed in “l(a”: the choices I make will affect everything, but they’ll affect everything in ways I can’t possibly predict.

Leave a Reply

