Wilson

When I first started writing Tiny Life for realsies (in 2000), I came up with an idea where my comic would combine a lot of elements of other genres (I was an English major in the middle of a paper detailing why 18th century literature should start with Inferno and end with Frankenstein).

The book after next after next is titled “A Warm Place”. Without giving too much away, Jed is sort of forced to be truly on his own while seeing a part of himself that he never knew existed (but we all sort of saw it coming). During this time, he travels to a new land where corporate life has run amok.

Knowing these two things, I thought it might be fun to run “A Warm Place” as if it were a collection of daily strips – partly because I’ve always wanted to do a daily strip and party as an homage to Outland, Dilbert, and Calvin & Hobbes. Now I don’t know if I’ll be able to do it because of Daniel Clowes.

Damn you, Wilson.

Wilson is a collection of one page strips where the main character (I would say “protagonist“, but I don’t know if that’s the right word here) slowly – like in a comic strip – shows us who he really is through a series of ridiculous situations and punch lines. Much like most of Clowes’ work, you have to be a Clowes fan to really enjoy it (I compare Clowes to Radiohead; he’s got one or two things for everyone, but most things he puts out are really for his little niche); it’s a bit boring, kind of slow-going, and amazing to behold.

Each page is a strip and each strip is titled. In most of the book there is a single-page plot that Wilson scoffs at and every once in a while there’s a multi-page plot that gets the reader more involved. Each page is also drawn in a different style.

Did you hear what I said? EVERY PAGE IS DRAWN IN A DIFFERENT STYLE! And they’re all good! I can’t even master one style and this guy is drawing dozens of different ways! It’d be like training your whole life for an MMA fight and meeting Chuck Norris. It’d be like trying to be a comedian since the day you could talk only to run into Jerry Seinfeld. It’d be like making a dozen analogies only to find out that they’re only barely apt.

Sigh…

…barely apt…

I’m not sure it’ll matter if I make “A Warm Place” a series of strips or not. I don’t think I can compete.

One Response

  1. See also Clowes’s Ice Haven, for a similar format (though he’s not really faithful to a daily format through most of the sections).

    Oh, and also 75% of all webcomics, for examples of how this technique can fail.

Leave a Reply

