Canadian Comfort Zone

I’ve decided to move out of my comfort zone a little bit.

I realized that – with the exception of Lemon – I’ve pretty much been doing things that I’m comfortable doing for the past 15 years. I’m good at writing so I write a lot. I’m pretty good at drawing stick figures so I’ll see if I can’t make a living at it. I don’t like geography or coffee (or many other adult hobbies) so I’ve been avoiding those things. I also don’t like selling myself; I don’t like talking myself up. When it comes to self-publishing, that’s a bad thing.

So this year I’ve decided to start looking at other cons besides SPACE. Frankly, I find the whole convention experience uncomfortable (no slight to Mr. Corby or SPACE); I sit there for hours on end hoping against hope that someone somewhere will find my comic a comparably better bang-for-the-buck. However, with two 100+ page novels under my belt and another one on the way, I figure I should start trying to get this thing out there for real.

So this year I’m going to scout a few conventions. Right now on my list are the Toronto Comic Arts Festival and the Detroit Fanfare. Toronto because it’s the only city I’ve ever been to and actually liked, and Detroit because it’s close and I think Cobo Hall is a pretty nice place.

Also, because I’m scouting them for next year, I can write off the trip as a business expense.

I was thinking of trying out APE or SPX but one takes place during the busiest time of year at my real job and the other is in theworstplacegodeverforgotcalifornia.

Any other suggestions for cool lil cons? Mid-Ohio Con? Emerald City? Déjà vu’s “All-You-Care-to-Eat Buffet / Comic / Strippers Keep Their Undies on So We Can Drink” Con?

One Response

  1. […] never been comfortable at comic conventions (mostly because the conversation revolves around the newest issues of […]

Leave a Reply

