Urbane Legend

A few weeks back I got a ticket.  I suppose I could fight it, but I make enough money where taking a half-day off work to save $85 isn’t worth it.  So instead, I’m applying an urban myth.

I’ve always heard that if you overpay your ticket, the State has to send you the difference.  Then, if you don’t cash their check, the case technically remains open and the license points are never reported to your insurance company.  Or so the legend goes…

I decided to try it.

I overpaid my ticket by $5.  About a month later I got a statement in the mail saying that I qualify for an internet driver education course.  The letter says that if I pay another $40 and pass the four-hour course, the points aren’t reported to the insurance agency and my insurance rates don’t go up.  I decided to go for it.

I signed up for the course.  The stipulations are that you can’t be trying to get around more than 2 points on your license, you can’t have had any drug arrests in the past so many years, and you can only do this one time.  The entire course is centered around extreme behavior and how to avoid it: how to avoid being drunk and driving, how to avoid being high and driving, how to avoid road rage, how to avoid oncoming traffic.  This is the State of Michigan for you: “The only way you can take this course is if you were caught speeding less than 10 miles over the posted limit and have never been to jail.  Ever.  This course is about avoiding jail time.”

I guess in their defense, they do have some pretty easy questions:

How can you avoid a head on collision?

  • Turn the steering wheel
  • Apply the breaks
  • Take your foot off the accelerator
  • All of the above

Alcohol makes you:

  • More aware of your surroundings.
  • Less aware of your surroundings.
  • Hyper.
  • Funny.

Basically I work on Tiny Life as the slideshow works in the background.  When it comes to take the tests, I surprisingly do well.

Leave a Reply

