Simplfy, Man

As you know, we’ve been renovating our house(I suppose I should say “I’ve been renovating our house”, but The Wife might get upset; she did, after all, pick the color of the baby’s room). Up next is the bathroom. After that is the living room. To tell you the truth, I’m not sure what to do with it.

I've been using Google Sketchup to design improvements. This is what my bathroom will look like. Eventually.

Lately I’ve been on a kick about simplifying life. I don’t want to have a laptop and a desktop and a work computer and a phone and a tablet; I want it all in one place so I don’t have to keep track of everything. I don’t want a living room TV that has all capabilities and a bedroom TV that only plays DVDs and a camping TV that only plays local stations and a movie TV that takes up a whole wall with surround sound; I want one TV that does what I want it to do. Same thing with cars and silverware and beverages and clothes: I just want the minimum possible that will achieve maximum success.

I’m currently designing what the living room will look like. I’m thinking about adding another few inches on the wall between my bedroom and the living room (mostly because of the sounds coming from the living room to the bedroom, but partly because of t’other way ‘round) and embedding an LED TV into that wall. Also, I’ll embed speakers into the wall so I won’t have to have some gigantic entertainment center that takes up a good 15 square feet. But here lies the problem: what do I do about all the boxes?

There’s a cable box and a DVR box and a DVD box and a video game box and a stereo box and a streaming entertainment box… I can imbed anything I want into the wall for aesthetic purposes (I’m thinking frames around them so they almost look like pictures hanging in a pattern), but if I do all that and then have a gigantic entertainment center, it’s kind of a moot point; it’d be like building a garage that complements my house and then throwing a bunch of shit on the lawn. I need one box that would replace all of that. I need a computer.

But that would look stupid, wouldn’t it? To have a framed 46” LED television embedded into the wall along with some sweet Bose speakers filling the room with sound and then right underneath it having a Gateway sitting on the ground with a bunch of wires coming out of it. Even a laptop would look strange. Basically, I need a computer that doesn’t look like a computer and that could handle streaming, recording, playing DVDs, and could be controlled remotely (because how stupid would it look to have a keyboard and mouse sitting on the coffee table?). Basically, I need a Mac Mini.

I can embed a Mini into the wall with the rest of the items, I can control it via iPhone (or maybe a designated “remote control” iPod touch), and it does everything I need it to do. The only problem is that, if I want to simplify my life to the point where I only have a few possessions, it’s going to cost like two grand.

Luckily I make comics for a living. I can afford the nicer things.

Leave a Reply

