Ridiculous Reality

I can see how people don’t really see any of the flaws in the medical system. It’s just like anything else: when you do something a lot this becomes your reality, no matter how crappy and deceiving that reality might be.

For instance, if you watch a lot of movies, you might start to think that the woman of your dreams is a leggy blonde with glasses who, when she takes her hair out of a bun and throws on some eyeliner, becomes one of the world’s top lingerie models; you might miss the short, dark-haired, slightly-chunky waitress with a mouth like a sailor and a capacity for putting up with your bullshit.

I only say this because The Wife and I (and The Baby) have been to the doctor’s so often this past month that I’m starting to expect all the things that I normally would write a post about; they’ve become my reality.

For instance, when I walk into urgent care now, I expect that – even though there is no one else being served (or is it “serviced”? I guess it depends on how urgent the “care”) – I will have to wait no less than 20 minutes. I don’t know if they have to wait the doctor up from his nap or if they just have a policy of “make him wait; he’s not getting any sicker” (when I worked in a One-Hour Photo Lab, we would always make the person wait 60 minutes even though it only took about nine minutes to finish a roll).

Whenever I’m checked out, I also expect to get a prescription, even if I don’t really need one. When The Wife got in that car accident she thought she might have whiplash, so she went in and got it checked out. The doctor said she didn’t have any whiplash, but he would give her something for the pain: Motrin, or should I say, the equivalent of two regular doses of Mortin, except now we had to pay a shitload for it.

I also expect the same ridiculous rigmarole before the doctor sees me: take my weight, temperature, ask if I’d ever been there before, ask if my insurance has changed, ask if I’m allergic to anything, and ask twice why I’m there (three times if you count the receptionist). Out of all of those questions, I think the only one they really have to ask is why I’m there. I’ll tell you if my insurance has changed, you’ll know if I’ve ever been there before, my weight and temperature don’t count toward anything, and the only way we’ll ever know if my allergies change is if you give me something that I don’t know I’m allergic to. But this is normal now; this is reality for me.

So, other than the car accident, why have we been to the doctor’s office so often? Well, The Wife had a sinus infection, but the pills she got for it didn’t work so she had to go back. Then she got a side-effect illness from the first perscription so she had to go back. Then she got into the car accident and had to go back, then she gave me her ears/nose/throat problem so I had to go in. Then I got poison ivy and I had to go in. Right now she’s in there asking if I gave it to Lemon. Tuesday The Baby goes in for her check up.

One Response

  1. I take it Lemon still has lots of bumps? Hopefully you won’t have to visit the doc again in a long while. 🙂

Leave a Reply

