Why the Stoppage

A few weeks ago I added a quick note on the site that said, “Productions halted.”  It was no joke and it wasn’t because of creative differences (as some people have assumed).  It’s because of a health issue.

I know what you’re thinking, “But Nick, you’re awesome!  How could you have a health problem?  You’re a Mostly Vegan; you exercise daily.  How could The Almighty threaten Tiny Life with something as trivial as lifeanddeath?”

I was born with a heart condition.  Several, actually.  Because of that, I have to go get a checkup every year.  It’s never been a problem.  Other than them giving me a timeline, I was never really told anything that might point towards a problem.  I was never given a special diet or exercise regimen.  “Whatever you’ve been doing, keep doing it,” is about all I’ve ever gotten.  During this last one, I was given some pretty bad news.  My aorta has dilated to 46mm.  This means I will have to have surgery to repair it. 

Open heart surgery.  On my heart.  In the open.  They have to cut open my chest, open my rib cage, and replace a malfunctioning part of my heart.

As you might imagine – especially given how my dad died (and lived) – this news sort of got me thinking about other things.  Things other than a stick figure in a mostly black-and-white world. 

So, for the next few days I’ll be posting a few things here and there and report on the status of Tiny Life.

2 Responses

  1. […] It really didn’t bother me all that much except for the fact that I also have a heart condition. This makes my heart especially susceptible to infection. One thing that could be a symptom of this […]

  2. […] never eaten more crap than I have this summer.  Usually, because of my heart (and history of cancer in my family), I’m a healthy guy.  I eat vegetables at every meal, I […]

Leave a Reply

