Therefore Time

I’ve been reading a lot of blog posts and message boards lately (mostly because I’m trying to set up my living room so that I have as few cords as possible hooking up to my TV and only one remote to run the whole thing) and the thing that infuriates me is the need for so many people to start their questions or answers with the word “so.” (I’ve talked about this before)

“So my dad was saying the other day…”

“So I’m having surgery soon…”

“So I’m having this itchy feeling whenever I pee…”

“So comedy goes in threes…”

One of the ideas behind the word “so” is that you’re about to conclude something.  You say it at the end of a story: “So that’s why the doctor said I should keep my finger out of there.”  You could replace that with a “therefore”: “Therefore, the doctor said I should keep my finger out of there.”

So (see?  I’m concluding a thought) I think I’ll start random paragraphs and posts with “Therefore.”

Leave a Reply

