“I Ate the Bones!”?!

There are two things wrong with this commercial:

The first thing that’s wrong is the same incorrect assumption that a lot of food commercials make: I don’t want to hear or watch people eat.  The only thing worse than watching someone turn a beautifully stacked hamburger into a gross mess in their mouth is listening to them do it.

The second thing wrong with is the same incorrect assumption that a lot of food commercials used to make: I don’t want to know what my food is made out of.  Just like I don’t want to hear someone snap into the casing of a hot dog in order for the hot juice to squirt down their throat, I don’t want the commercial to say, “That snap?  Sheep intestine.  That juice?  fatty byproduct of eyelids mussing with anuses.”

So when you have the crux of a campaign revolving around the connotations of eating bones – only dogs eat bones, chicken bones splinter, accidentally biting into a bone is jarring, the only part of animals we don’t eat are the bones and therefore the bones are garbage, this thing I’m eating used to be alive, breaking bones hurts – it makes me think of things like this:

And I no longer want to eat chicken.

Leave a Reply

