How Long

Every summer I set aside a little time to do some home improvement stuff.  Sometimes it’s as simple as planing trees; other times it’s as complicated as completely finishing a basement.

This summer, I decided to redo the kids’ bathroom.  I started two weeks ago and finished this morning at 10:42.  I’ll share some before-and-after pictures later.  What I want you to notice is how long it actually took.

20130730-134803.jpg
I’m never quite sure how long it takes me to do something, or rather, I always think it’s going to go by much quicker than it actually does (for instance, I’ve been working on Jed Jr. since the summer Lemon was born).  This time I decided to time myself.

Because I have kids and because The Wife doesn’t do much around the house, I do a lot of starting-and-stopping.  I’ll work for 90 minutes, hear a kid screaming, go yell at her, work again for 30 minutes, hear some inappropriate laughter, pick up a dook on the coffee table, work for another hour…  It would’ve been a hassle to start and stop a stopwatch a thousand times.  Instead, I just hit “random” on my iPhone and played any song in my playlist until I finished.  Sometimes it was They Might Be Giants, sometimes it was Metallica, sometimes it was a Mitch Hedberg album I pirated back when there was Napster.  The point is: I didn’t skip ahead and I only paused when my work paused.

Putting in new tile, sink, vanity, toilet, and walls takes 568 tracks.

Putting in new tile, sink, vanity, toilet, and walls takes 568 tracks.

One Response

  1. […] I said in a previous post that I always take some time each summer to improve something on the house.  This year it was the kids’ bathroom. […]

Leave a Reply

