Lettering is an Inside Art Art

I’ve been lettering the next chapter of Jed Jr. for the last little while. It used to take me about two days to get done with about 15-20 pages. This time I was able to do only a few pages a day. Why? Because I forgot how to letter.

A good example of how letters can add to the page without distracting.

A good example of how letters can add to the page without distracting.

I was never the best. I was never a Chris Eliopoulos or a Dave Sim. It took me a long time to figure it out. I spent weeks figuring out how to leave room in a panel for lettering and how to place balloons and how to use a different pen for the letters and how thick I should make the balloons and how to do emphasized words (I can’t do italics or bold very well, so I emphasize using larger letters) and how to do the balloon tails that match more of the ballon than the background…

I know it sounds stupid, but there’s a lot to know. Basically, you have to be able to advance the story overall without distracting the reader in the individual panel. It’s a different type of art inside the art of sequential storytelling.

But, after about a week, I finally got the hang of it again.

I only have about four pages left to finish and I should have the next 20-some-odd page installment of Jed Jr. on sale soon.

Leave a Reply

