Common Phrase Copyright

Normally when I shower I don’t do much; I’m in and out.  By “not do much” I mean that I don’t use soap or shampoo or body wash or conditioner or shower spray or… anything (by the way, look at the ingredients of each of those: it’s all the same thing).  I wash my hair about once a week and I use soap whenever I do something that gets me dirty (you know: rugby, cleaning out the septic tank, strangling skunks, etc.).

Since I’m in and out, I don’t spend a lot of time looking at the various bottles The Wife has collected and put in there.  Today, however, I noticed this:

dial

click to enlarge

You shouldn’t notice much; it looks like a normal plastic soap bottle.  But if you look a little closer, you’ll see this:

round

click to enlarge

The makers of Dial have a copyright on “Round the Clock”.  Not even “Round the Clock Odor Protection”, but the phrase “Round the Clock.”  How is that possible?  I thought there was some sort of law that says you can’t copyright common phrases like “Two wrongs don’t make a right,” or “Don’t judge a book by its cover” or “There’s no such thing as freckles down there.”

Since apparently this is possible, I will be filing copyrights on all of the following:

  • Are you kidding me?
  • Global warming
  • Just sayin’
  • So random
  • YOLO
  • Fail
  • Win
  • It is what it is

Now I can quit my job, watch the Brinks truck full of money back up to my door every week, and do Tiny Life for real.

Leave a Reply

