Insurance Runaround (or, Why I Hate Lawyers Part 2)

This is no exaggeration.

I’ve been talking to those in the know about my paperwork situation.  Many said that the piece of paper I need in order to sell the house that I already own may be covered by the title insurance I bought ten years ago.

It came with a handle so you could easily carry it, four controllers, the games, the yellow video RCA cord, the red & white RCA cords, and the power transformer to Jaden's house and play Donkey Kong Jungle Beat

It came with a handle so you could easily carry it, four controllers, the games, the yellow video RCA cord, the red & white RCA cords, and the power transformer to Jaden’s house and play Donkey Kong Jungle Beat

Like many things I purchased ten years ago – a boombox, a GameCube, Dude, Where’s My Car, and copy of NSync for The Wife (although back then she was “Lady Who Lets Me See her Naked”) – I can’t find it.  So I had to call the company who created the title insurance form in order to get a new copy.  This is exactly what happened:

I went to their website and wasn’t able to find a “contact us” button.  However, on their Facebook page, I found a costumer complaint with a phone number reply.

I called 800-399-3003.  I explained my situation to the operator who sent me to the correct department.

I explained my situation again to the correct department.  They told me to call 810-522-0010.  This was the phone number of one specific person.  She was on vacation.

I again called 800-399-3003.  I again explained my situation to the operator who again sent me to the correct department.

I explained my situation again to the correct department.  They told me to call 810-229-2700 and ask for “post-closing”.

I called and asked if I could get a copy of my title insurance.  She said that since it was ten years old, I’d have to email mipcc@firstam.com.

I emailed and explained the situation and asked what information was needed for them to send me the title insurance paperwork I had purchased when Mel Gibson wasn’t considered anti-Semitic for Passion of the Christ.

I immediately received an email that said they would happily respond within 10 business days.  Since I was hoping to have the paperwork in my hands within ten days, I again called 810-229-2700 and asked for “post-closing”.

Luckily it was the same lady and I asked her what I needed to send via email in order to get the copy of my title insurance.

I sent the information she told me to mipcc@firstam.com.  About two hours later I got a response that said “We didn’t handle this account.  It was underwritten by us, but you’ll have to contact the originators via their website.”

I went to this new company’s website and found a contact page.  There was no phone number provided, so I had to email about who to call.

A phone number was given within an hour.  I called 248-502-3100.  I asked for “post-closing.”

I was sent directly to a voicemail.  I explained the situation and asked for my phone call to be returned.

Three hours later a woman got back to me. She asked what my address was and what email she should send the copy to.  I received a copy within seconds.

This literally took all day.  I started at 8:30 and stopped at 5:00.  This amount of runaround is why the insurance industry is chocking the economy.   It’s also why they have the biggest buildings around, despite creating nothing.

This is Phoenix Mutual Life. They make nothing. Despite the thousands of people who work here, you will ironically talk to no one if you call them.

One Response

  1. […] talked about this before (and before again).  The title work for the old house is still […]

Leave a Reply

