How Much is Too Much

van01

I’ve heard that there were problems with Comcast.  There are entire websites devoted to their awful service.  I had no idea.

Call 1: June 15th

“I’m requesting internet service and I think you’re going to have to go under the road.  Consumer’s is supposed to come out soon and I thought it’d work out best if you could just put your wire in the hole that they’re digging.  That way I don’t have to pay for two holes.”

Response: You wouldn’t have to pay for two holes.  We do that.  Since this is a new home, it’s not on our map yet.  We’ll send a few guys out there and map it all out and get back to you later in the week.

Result: No one got back to me

Call 2: July 1st

“I called about a month ago to schedule some internet service and the guy said that they had to survey the area and then get back to me.  No one got back to me.  Also, electric is supposed to come in any day now and I was hoping you could put the cable wire into the same hole that they’re digging.”

Response: Someone was sent out and the property is now on the map.  Apologies for not calling back.  Let us know a specific date when Consumer’s is coming out

Result: No service hooked up

Call 3: August 18th

“I called a while back and asked for service.  You said to call when I knew when Consumer’s was going to bore under the road.  They’re doing it either tomorrow or the next day.”

Response: We need more lead time than that

Result: No one came out

Call 4: November 27th

I was transferred several times from one department to another.

Response: none

Result: I was disconnected

Call 5: November 28th

When I finally got a hold of someone, they sounded like they were on a crowded bus.

Response: “Hello?  Caller?”

Result: I was disconnected

Call 6: November 29th

I went online and ordered internet through the website

Response: immediate “thank you for your business”

Result: A technician is scheduled to come out on the 21st

Call 7: December 21st

A guy came to the house and tried to hook up the internet

Response: You don’t have any lines coming to your house.  I’ll have to call and schedule someone to come and dig.  You won’t have to pay for it though.  We kind of eat that and then know you’ll be getting cable through us for a while.  It’ll be about a week.

Result: no one came to dig

Call 8: December 29th

I call and talk to a Comcast representative as if he represented the company.  Most of the conversation revolves around, “Why won’t you let me give you my money for the rest of my life?!”

Response: After long hold times he says that he can get someone to dig on the 31st and get the cable hooked up on the 3rd.

Result: No one came out on the 31st

Call 9: January 3rd

A guy came to the house and tried to hook up the internet

Response:  You don’t have any lines coming to your house.  I’ll have to call and schedule someone to come and dig.  You’ll have to pay a hefty sum for that.

Result: I will not be getting internet

Leave a Reply

