House Complete Part the Fifth

Today’s focus: unclassifiable spaces

To most people, these spots are not interesting.  These are the places where mops are kept and where winter coats are stored and where The Wife’s life-sized Care Bear costume stays.

You probably don’t care, but I find these spaces pretty fascinating.  As the designer of the house, these spaces are necessary and, in many cases, accidental.

IMG_0999

This is the entryway.  I’ve never lived in a place with an entryway.  The Wife likes to call it a mudroom.  I’ve never lived in a place with a mudroom.  I call it an atrium.  I’ve lived in several places with an atrium.  To the right of the entryway is…

 

IMG_1001

… a place for hanging things. Most houses have this, but this alcove is out of the way and perfectly matches everything in the house.  Like a Stepford Wife.  To the left is…

 

IMG_1002

…the garage.  I’ve never had a garage before, so I have no idea what to do with it except put things in it.  It’s like I’m just learning how to date.

 

 

IMG_1007

At the top of the stairs, all the way to the end you’ll find a closet.  Originally it was a window (because this side of the house has few windows), but the more I thought about my daughters showering and then walking to their room naked, the more I thought that I shouldn’t have a five-foot window in the hallway.  It was changed to a closet, which is where we keep the bags, vacuum, and other miscellanea that we want to keep, but only use once a year (like my self-confidence, and a travel-charger) 

IMG_1006

Also upstairs is the laundry closet.  People kept objecting to me putting the clothes washer beside the clothes closets and adjacent to the clothes wearers once they get declothed. 

 

IMG_1003

Above the stairs to the basement is a small 4x4x8 closet.  It is hard-to-reach for a reason: it’s full of things that I should probably throw away but can’t.  Like my Stan Lee autographed X-Men #1 (not the original, the highest-selling comic in history.  The one that’s worth $2.50), The Wife’s VHS copies of The X-Files, and yearbooks from middle school (unfortunately, I look exactly the same).

IMG_1005

This is my basement storage area.  It’s walled off and contains four eight-foot shelves and an under-the-stairs storage area. 

IMG_1004

This is my basement non-storage area.  Right now it resembled the other area.  Eventually I’ll change it to an art studio and finish the third book of Tiny Life.  Or maybe I’ll put a projector down here and watch The Adventures of Brisco County Jr.  Whatever’s easier. 

 

 

Leave a Reply

